Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Divertimento: “No one is an island”

October 15, 2023 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm


Divertimento: “No one is an island” – Sunday October 15 in Lustleigh Village Hall 3.00pm

The next Divertimento Quartet concert is on Sunday October 15th in the Village Hall at 3.00pm.  Adult tickets £18 in advance at the Dairy or on the door.  Those of us who are under 18 get in for free!

There are 4 works on the programme:   Mozart – String Quartet K 80,     Britten – Simple Symphony (string quartet version), Purcell – 2 Fantasias,  Elgar – String Quartet in E minor.

The title of this concert, No one is an Island, is taken from the wonderful saying of John Donne,  slightly adapted for the sake of modern sensibilities, came to mind when we were conceiving a DSQ programme of English music. It is a pertinent message for our times, politically and socially, for sure, but in the context of English music, it is important to acknowledge the outside influences that formed the English national style.

Purcell was influenced by French and Italian music.  His Fantasia music comes across as the most timeless of these four great composers, somehow both modern sounding and ancient. It is extraorfinary that he wrote this music aged 21.   Mozart was 14 when he wrote his 1st string quartet in G major K 80. The original 3 movement work was completet on 15th of March,1770  while touring in Lombardi. The 4th movemant was added later, possibly in 1773 for a performance in Vienna.

Continuing with the youthful theme Benjamin Britten was 20 when he wrote his Simple Symphony but its genesis was earlier in that it was based on themes conceived between the ages of 9 and 12.  There are 4 movements: 1. Boisterous Bourree  2. Playful Pizzicato  3. Sentimental Sarabande  4. Frolicsome Finale. Written initially for a string ensemble Britten also produced a version for string quartet.

The main work on the programme is the String Quartet in Eminor Op.83 by Edward Elgar. At the age of 61 in the summer of 1918 at ‘Brinkwells’, his charming cottage at Fittleworth in Sussex, he embarked on writing his 3 greatest pieces of chamber music, the Violin Sonata, the String Quartet and the Piano Quintet. These pieces are a late flowering of his talent and represent a peak in English chamber music.  The Quartet is in 3 movements:  1. Allegro moderato  2. Piacevole (pleasantly) (poco andante)  3. Finale (allegro molto).

We are very much looking forward to hearing the wonderful Divertimento Quartet bringing to us great live music so please encourage friends to come and experience the event.


October 15, 2023
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Event Categories:


Entire Hall


Will Carnell